NEW DELHI: In a declaration to put an end to VIP culture, on Wednesday government issued an order BAN the use of red beacons on all vehicles belonging to VIPs, ministers and lawmakers.

According to the new law which comes into power on May 1, only the PresidentVice PresidentPrime Minister, Chief Justice of India and the Speaker of Lok Sabha will use the red beacons on the vehicles.

As per rules, red beacons are allowed on vehicles of the 32 Cabinet ministers and a rest few others, who are in the post and status of a Cabinet minister. The count of such dignitaries is much more in states.
On last week, the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) has called a gathering to discuss about this politically sensitive issue .
The road transport ministry had forwarded three options to PMO after taking advice from senior Cabinet ministers and one of the options was to ban the use of red beacons. Sources informed TOI that the proposal has been pending for more than 1 and half years.

The Aam Aadmi Party(AAP)  government in Delhi was the first to stop the use of red beacons by ministers. More newly, the Amarinder Singh government in Punjab has done away with red beacons , it also followed by the Uttar Pradesh government led by Yogi Adityanath.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here